Wrapping up my second week at CADG

My second week in Beijing is coming to an end, and I finally feel like I can slow down and publish my first post.

Week one was mired in challenges. A late arrival at the airport, and a clumsy trek to the office. A lack of settled accommodations, and a glimpse into the Beijing housing market. I was sick and home-sick, but luckily in all the rush and stress it passed by very quickly.

I have just finished my second week of internship at China Architecture Design and Research Group (CADG). I am starting to get the workflow down (i.e. it moves very fast), and I feel like I am starting to settle into the office. I have made a few friends, despite language barriers, and they have really assisted me in wrapping my head around how the planning process works here in Beijing.

Beijing – the customs, the foods, the smells, the scale, the energy – no place could be as distinctly different from Portland, Oregon. Reader, I dare you to find me a city of greater contrast. This internship program is not for the faint of heart, either. There has been a lot I have had to navigate on my own, and a lot of catching up I have had to do. That being said, things are moving forward and I know I will come out of this having learned a lot.

This upcoming week a colleague and I will be conducting some field research, and I will make it a point to put up a draft of what that will entail in my next post. I have been cramming a lot of urban theory and theories of urban design in order to draft assessment criteria for the study – and I really should get back to it (I have to make my case to the boss tomorrow!).

Much love.

2 thoughts on “Wrapping up my second week at CADG

  1. Yiping says:

    I hope things are calming down and I heard it is pretty hot in Beijing! Keep blogging and I look forward to seeing some pictures as well.

    Like

  2. cecorrales says:

    🙂 yay! glad to read you are alive and well jasmine! have fun! looking forward to reading more about your adventures.

    Like

Leave a Reply

